5th Gen Subaru Impreza Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

Registered
2017 Impreza Sport Hatchback
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm debating a new exhaust system for my 2017 Impreza Sport wagon with a CVT. I've read forum after forum about bad cabin drone noise, specifically with nameless exhausts. I haven't seen a whole lot about experiences with this same issue on borla systems. Has anyone had similar experiences with borla exhaust? Is one brand/system better than the other? I would like a little more macho sounding exhaust but don't want to lose my hearing with cabin drone noise. 馃槀

Registered
I have no specific experience with these two brands on GEN5 Impreza.
I have some experience with BORLA exhausts on other vehicles.

In general, BORLA:
  • Uses 100% high-grade stainless-steel for all components and clamps.
    • The BORLA exhausts I have owned looked shiny like table-cutlery from end to end...even after many Vermont winters.
  • Has "Million Mile Warantee" on all their stuff.
  • Uses heaver-gauge steel which helps keep the "drone" out of the cabin.
  • Often costs lot more than competitors exhaust-sytems due to heavier and better steel.

Registered
'22 Impreza Sport Sedan w/ CVT
I have the Nameless 5" and I love it in my Sport. The best way to keep the drone out is when you going from 0-50ish in town, keep it in sport "manual" mode and shift around 3k rpm. It'll make sure the dip back down when you shift isn't in the 1k-1.5k rpm range and make the annoying drone.

Might be something to consider but look at the wait time for when the actual exhaust will get to you. When I ordered mine from Nameless it was light back in Sept and didn't get it until Nov. If timing matters then you may want to pick the other one.

Registered