5th Gen Subaru Impreza Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,
In this thread, I include all wiring needed to replace the radio and retain almost every feature of the car and how to wire them.

Standard disclaimer:
I'm not responsible if you screw up something. This info is given out of good will, to the best of my knowledge. I'm not a profesionnal, only an amateur (with 23 years of mobile sound system background). Don't come to cry if you burn your car down and your wife leaves with the kid :wink2:

Known features that won't work with aftermarket radio:
- Display above the radio will not display audio track info or radio station playing. It just stays blank on the screen that would display radio stuff. Nothing's broken on the other pages of this display
- Display above the radio will not display Weather info (If you had Sirius subscription). The Weather page just don't appear anymore. Nothing's broken on the other pages of this display
- The time won't auto-set (battery removed) or auto-update (Daylight TimeSaving) anymore. This feature comes with the XM/Sirius tuner.
- You can't change car parameters with the radio anymore (lights timer, distance unit, buzzer volume, etc). You can use the steering wheel buttons on the bottom left as usual. It's just a little less convenient but it works well. Not a deal breaker.
- Volume adjustment with Vehicule Speed probably won't work. It depends on your headunit and finding the right wire to plug in. My new headunit don't have this feature.

Wiring and pinout of harnesses
See post #2

Removing OEM headunit
To remove the radio, it's very straight foward:
1- Insert flathead screw driver between Vent and soft dash board at the botton of the vent. Using the soft material will prevent any damage to the dashboard part. Repeat for both vents on each side of radio