5th Gen Subaru Impreza Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys I'm new to Subaru new to foreign cars really but I've got a serious question can you not plug the input wire from an HID ballast into the low beam plug and it work? Because that's been my experience with my Lincoln mark VIII, so I bought my wife a 2017 impreza sport last month and it is an absolute blast and its the first new car we've ever owned. Also last month the driver side HID bulb went out on my Lincoln so I ordered a new set of morimoto elites from amazon but they sent me H11 bulbs by mistake I order the 9006 for my car everything is perfect, so I figured reuse my old ballasts and the H11's for her car but it doesn't work I unplugged the bulb on the driver side plug it into the ballast and nothing it doesn't work. I unplug the morimoto ballast to test the original one and it works just fine so I'm asking what all do I need to do to get them to work?

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
This is the setup in my Lincoln, it works flawlessly way better than the generic HID setup that replaced the factory HID's like 18 years ago. I was hoping to have this running on her car tbh the halogen bulbs are dangerous at night because of how dim they are.

·
Registered
236 Posts
There are HID conversion kits available, and the good ones cost about $150, or about the same as a good LED conversion kit. Of course, the real question is this: How well do these kit bulbs FOCUS? Some do a great job, some don't, leaving you with a beam that is unfocused, throwing light all sorts of places other than straight ahead, where you need it. Please, do a LOT of research before you get a conversion kit.