5th Gen Subaru Impreza Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been driving in ice and snow since 1953 (yes, 1953). I learned from my Mom who was an ambulance driver in the
USA in the '40s & '50s serving in the American Women's Voluntary Services (AWVS). She was trained by the winter driving course in the (then) Army and regularly took me (15 years old) to every snow-covered big parking lot on Sundays before the plows cleared them. learned all the tricks of two-wheel vehicle driving on ice and deep snow. I've never stopped practicing for 72 years and consider myself pretty much of an expert (old, yes) but my love for all-wheel drive Subarus has met a real bad set of tires for my (used) 2018 Impreza Sport. It came to me with 18" wheels with mounted Falken tires.

Today was my first snowstorm so I took a short refresher "test" drive for this Subaru's 1st winter with me.

Scary as hell! The torque was way too much for the advance-from-idle transition into drive and I spent a little sideways time on some clear ice. It felt like I was driving a go-kart. All over the place and absolutely no "pull" over minor obstacles like 1.5" curbs with fresh snow. It gave no "bite" at all. even at lowest RPM acceleration. It felt like I was back 72 years ago on my first Sunday lesson.

I desperately need recommendations for all-weather (not "winter-only," studded or extra tires) in this odd size. I've been on soft-compound all-weather Michelin tires since 1956 without ever a bad enough winter to not be able to go with confidence,
What do you winter drivers recommend for tires for this Subie that has narrow "slippers" for "shoes?"

--thanks

·
Registered
585 Posts
What do you winter drivers recommend for tires for this Subie that has narrow "slippers" for "shoes?"
For driving on snow-covered roads, you WANT narrow tires. They have a better chance of getting down to the asphult and finding traction. (wider tires tend to 'float' on the snow)