5th Gen Subaru Impreza Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I haven't yet started in on the car audio portion of this build as I am still waiting on a wiring harness and LOC to get started. But I did some things today!

First step was to plastidip the front grille. I've never done this before and unfortunately left a tiny bit of chrome showing when I peeled off the tape. I don't think I waited long enough but it works for now. It will definitely be redone sooner or later though.

Second was to figure out the removal of the trim around the shifter to run wires for my footwell LEDs. This was super easy. Take a trim tool to the E brake and pull it up towards you. There's a few clips that pop out really easily revealing 2 Phillips head screws. Remove those and start pulling the whole thing up from the back by the console. There are a few wires here so be careful not to pull too far but it comes out easy enough.

I then plugged into the cig lighter power and popped the USB and Aux Jack casing out too feed the wire down into the opening. Mounted the box for the LED strips out of sight here and ran the wires back under each footwell.

Any questions feel free to ask! I'll post a video up of the LEDs tonight when I can see them finally!

Attachments

·
Registered
308 Posts
Nice start! Love the amount of prep you did for the plastidipping though in regards to masking everything off. But I also would like to see how the footwell lights look in the night time.

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Nice start! Love the amount of prep you did for the plastidipping though in regards to masking everything off. But I also would like to see how the footwell lights look in the night time.