5th Gen Subaru Impreza Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been driving manual transmission cars ever since 1981. With the exception of the Impreza, it was easy to quickly learn how much to release the gas pedal when shifting out of each gear, in order to reduce the engine RPM to an appropriate value suitable for the next gear. This meant (if done correctly) that the vehicle would not "lurch" (forward or aft) when the clutch pedal was released.

With my Impreza, this appear impossible. Even if the gas pedal is totally released after the clutch pedal is depressed, the engine RPM stays at the prior value for a second before slowly decreasing. Trying to quickly get the engine RPM to a desired value before releasing the clutch pedal, appears to be an exercise in futility. I can only guess that this is for one of two reasons:

1. Emission control, to avoid a too-rich mixture during a throttle reduction.
  2. Enforced for engine "break-in" for the first 1000 miles (I'm at 820 miles).

I can only hope for #2, because otherwise it appears to be impossible to accelerate rapidly, quickly shift gears, and not avoid a lurch. Otherwise, the only way to avoid the lurch is by letting the clutch out gradually, which is not a great idea when attempting to accelerate rapidly through the gears.

Anyone else notice this? You can also see this effect by pressing the gas pedal when in neutral to give 2000-3000 RPM, and then quickly releasing the gas pedal: the RPM does not fall off immediately.

·
Registered
215 Posts
Yes the rev hang is terrible and unfortunately it is not part of the engine break in. It is 100% for emissions. I?m hoping that a tune shop local to me has the desire based on requests to offer a tune for this car that would eliminate the rev hang. It sucks.

·
Registered
320 Posts